Union City Middle School Students Earn Awards

By Mike Hutchens, UC Schools Communications Director
Union City. Tenn.–Awards Day at Union City Middle School saw several students honored for the 2018-19 school year.
Three fifth grade students were honored with the prestigious Presidential Award. Though fifth graders were moved to UC Middle School this year, the end of their respective elementary school days netted the Presidential Award to Bertie Jenkins, Claire Atwill and Jake Underwood.
The criteria for the Presidential Award was:

  1. All A’s in each marking period
  2. 95+ in ELA and Math TNReady

Yellow certificates were presented to students who had perfect attendance.
UCMS Perfect Attendance 2018-2019
Issiah Brown
Lennon Bing
Amari Bonds
Hailey Bridges
Lyndon Brown
Trent Craddock
Kolby Craig
Miles Everett
Latonio Fair
Alexis Forrest
Jose Hipolito
Indeya Hogsett
Caitlyn Jo Hoffman
Rushdon Howell
Alayah Hunt
Grissom Hutchison
Beto Martinez
Kendyn Moss
Tommy Miller
Gavin Morgan
Brooklyn Murphy
Dylan Ruiz
Jocelyn Ruiz
Daisy Sanchez
Kameron Shade
Alton Smith
Drew Smothers
Natalie Soto
RaQueshia Teeters
Hayden Toon
Crickett Washburn
Student EXCEL was awarded to students who achieved the highest average for each subject by grade level.  The white certificates with the golden frame were received by those who won student EXCEL based upon their grade and subject matter.
If more than one teacher gave instruction for a subject, it was permitted for those subject areas to be broken up based upon the class and instructor.